skip to Main Content

The means it's official.

Government websites end in  Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a government site.

This site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Get In Touch

Phone: 1-246-535-4800
Address: 1st Floor Warrens Towers II Warrens, St. Michael

Our Location

An official website of the Barbados Government

Elections were held on Thursday 06th December 1956. The Supervisor of Elections was Mr. L. A. Chase and the Deputy Supervisor of Elections was Mr. C. A. Ramsey.

Six hundred and ninety-three (693) Election Officers were deployed at the Polling Stations as follows:

  • Twelve (12) Returning Officers
  • Fifteen (15) Election Clerks
  • One hundred and eighty-two (182) Presiding Officers
  • Three hundred and seventy-four (374) Poll Clerks
  • One hundred and ten (110) Counting Assistants

One hundred and ten (110) Polling Stations were used and the cost of renting privately-owned buildings was $15 or $20 depending on the size of the building and the amenities provided.

Sixty-three (63) candidates were nominated as follows:

  • Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – 19
  • Democratic Labour Party (DLP) – 16
  • Progressive Conservative Party (PCP) – 13
  • Peoples Progressive Movement (PPM) -4
  • Independents (IND) – 11

There were 103,290 registered electors, 42,985 males and 60,304 females. 62,274 electors voted, 60% or 28,845 were males and 33,429 were females. The BLP received 49%, DLP – 20%, PCP – 21%, PPM – .02% and IND .08% of the votes cast.

Twenty four (24) candidates; two (2) for each of the twelve (12) constituencies were elected to the House of Assembly as follows:

  • Barbados Labour Party – 15
  • Democratic Labour Party – 4
  • Progressive Conservative Party – 3
  • Independents – 2
%d bloggers like this: