skip to Main Content

The means it's official.

Government websites end in  Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a government site.

This site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Get In Touch

Phone: 1-246-535-4800
Address: 1st Floor Warrens Towers II Warrens, St. Michael

Our Location

An official website of the Barbados Government

For the 2003 Elections, the number of constituencies was increased from 28 to 30.

The Writs for the Elections were issued on 25th April 2003 appointing Nomination Day as Tuesday 6th May 2003 and Election Day as Wednesday 21st May 2003. On Monday 28th April 2003 the Governor General also appointed Thursday 15th May 2003 as the Polling Day for Foreign Service Electors and Special Polling Day for Election Officers.

The Supervisor of the Elections was Mr. Hensley H. Robinson while the Deputy Supervisor of Elections was Mr. Donville Johnson.

Two thousand two hundred and eight (2208) Election Workers were deployed at the Polling Stations as follows: –

  • Thirty (30) Returning Officers
  • Thirty (30) Election Clerks
  • Five hundred and twenty-three (523) Presiding Officers
  • Thirty (30) Special Presiding Officers
  • One thousand Two hundred and thirty-six (1236) Poll Clerks
  • Two hundred and forty-eight (280) Counting Assistants
  • Fifty-two (52) Clerical Assistants

There were two hundred and ninety (290) Polling Stations in two hundred and forty-four (244) buildings and the cost of renting privately owned buildings ranged from $400 to $500 depending on the size and amenities provided.

Sixty-two (62) candidates were nominated as follows:-

  • Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – 30
  • Democratic Labour Party (DLP) – 30
  • Independents (IND) – 2

There were 220,093 registered electors, 104,304 males and 115,789 females; of which 61.0% or 134,312 voted – 9,732 males and 74,580 females. The BLP received 56.3%, DLP 43.6% and IND 0.1% of the votes cast.

The election of Members to serve in the House of Assembly was as follows:-

  • Barbados Labour Party – 23
  • Democratic Labour Party – 7
  • Independent – 0

The full report can be purchased from the Electoral and Boundaries Commission – Electoral Department.

%d bloggers like this: